Book Review: The Paper Magician

Harry Potter (HP)┬áis one of my all-time favorite books, both as a kid and as an adult. I am a total Potter nerd who lost despaired at never getting an invitation to Hogwarts. I reread these books every year because I couldn’t find a book that makes me feel just as good reading it. Pinterest is always marking books for readers who loved HP and I finally decided to check one of them out.

Paper Magician by Charlie N. Holmberg is a fantasy novel. I really don’t know whether to classify it as adult or young adult, but it is probably closer to young adult. A couple of weeks ago the e-book was on sale for $1.99 so I snatched it up while it was cheap in case I did not like it, but I could have spent full price and been totally happy about it.

It takes place in an alternate world back in either the late 1800s or early 1900s and the main character is a 19 year old girl who is starting her apprenticeship with a paper magician after her year at school. Her mentor ends up in trouble and she must go and save him. The book has almost a regency feel to it with a bit of a school story (but more college-y, if that makes sense) aspect to it. Lovers of all things steam punk would definitely enjoy this.

The thing that reminded me most about HP in this book was the way the author makes the magic seem like it could totally be real. In HP you never question the validity of the magic; it all just seems so wonderful and possible. The magic in this book is very much like that too.

However, this book is nothing like HP. First of all, it has way more of a romance angle to it than HP, and also the way the magic works is completely different. Regardless, it is totally binge-worthy and a fun read that will make you want to be a wizard all over again, while not feeling like you are reading a children’s book.

I am always excited to find a new book to fall in love with and even more excited when it is a series and I know that the story will go on (I have a hard time letting go!). This book may even make it into my reread pile because it just made me feel happy as I was reading it.

If you have any other book suggestions that are like Harry Potter or The Paper Magician, please comment with the title. I would love to find some new books to try.